LIFT in Scripture

Bob Bacher’s opening devotions for the task force’s final in-person meeting focused on occurrences of the word “lift” in Scripture.  Here are the verses we reflected on:

* * * * *

The Lord LIFT up his countenance upon you and give you peace.  ~ Numbers 6:26

If I am wicked, woe to me! If I am righteous, I cannot LIFT up my head, for I am filled with disgrace and look upon my affliction.  ~ Job 10:15

LIFT up your heads, o gates! and be lifted up, o ancient doors! that the King of Glory may come in.  ~ Psalm 24:7

To you, o Lord, I LIFT up my soul.  ~ Psalm 25:1

I LIFT up my eyes to the hills, from where will my help come?  ~ Psalm 121:1

LIFT up your hands to the holy place, and bless the Lord.  ~ Psalm 134:2

Get you up to a high mountain, o Zion, herald of good tidings; LIFT up your voice with strength, o Jerusalem, herald of good tidings, LIFT it up, do not fear; say to the cities of Judah, “Here is your God!”  ~ Isaiah 40:9

LIFT up your eyes on high and see: who created these?  ~ Isaiah 40:26

But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even LIFT up his eyes to heaven, but was beating his breast and saying, “God, be merciful to me, a sinner!”  ~ Luke 18:13

And just as Moses LIFTed up the serpent in the wilderness, so must the Son of Man be LIFTed up, that whoever believes in him may have eternal life.  ~ John 3:14

And I, when I am LIFTed up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.  ~ John 12:32

We have heard from the law that the Messiah remains forever.  How can you say that the Son of Man must be LIFTed up?  Who is this Son of Man?  ~ John 12:34

When he had said this, as they were watching, he was LIFTed up, and a cloud took him out of their sight.  ~ Acts 1:9

I desire then, that in every place they should pray, LIFTing up holy hands without anger or argument.  ~ 1 Timothy 2:8

Therefore LIFT your drooping hands and strengthen your weak knees, and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be put out of joint, but rather be healed.  ~ Hebrews 12:12

Questions for thought:

  1. Is LIFT important in Scripture?
  2. What is being LIFTed?
  3. Who does the LIFTing?
  4. What is the purpose of the LIFTing?
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Walter on January 29, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I never realized how many times “lift” occurs in Scripture. Thank you for posting; this will provide me with food for thought, prayer and reflection as well.

    Reply

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Regina Trombitas, LIFT ELCA. LIFT ELCA said: New Blog Post – "LIFT In Scripture" http://t.co/P2NieTs […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

